This is the "Fire/EMS/Safety Collection" page of the "Fire/EMS/Safety Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Fire/EMS/Safety Resources  

Last Updated: Apr 30, 2014 URL: http://libguides.century.edu/FireEMSSafety Print Guide RSS Updates
Fire/EMS/Safety Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Fire/EMS/Safety Collection at the Century College Library

The Fire/EMS/Safety Collection is integrated into Century College Library. This collection, formerly housed at MNSCU central offices, is one of only a few  in the United States primarily concerned with fire and emergency medical services. It includes over 11,000 cataloged titles on arson, building codes, emergency medical services, fire codes, fire education, fire fighting, fire investigations, fire safety, fire services management, hazardous materials emergencies, and risk analysis.

  • Books are shelved in the general collection.
  • Periodicals, DVDs, and other formats are located behind the circulation desk. Please request these at the circulation desk.

These materials are available through Interlibrary Loan from anywhere in the United States. Request the material through your local public library. Your library will borrow it from Century and make it available to you for loan.

Community users from Minnesota may check out materials in person using a Community Library card, available at the circulation desk for $1. More information about Community Library user privileges/responsibilities is available in the handout below.

 

Search Fire/EMS/Safety Items in Century Library Catalog

Other Fire/EMS/Safety Resources

  • Datanet
    From the Minnesota Office of Geographic and Demographic Analysis, Datanet contains summarized statistical information designed to serve Minnesota's governments, businesses, schools, nonprofit agencies and citizens. The system contains statistics about social, economic and demographic conditions in Minnesota.
  • National Fire Protection Association
    The NFPA website provides reports and statistics on the loss of life and property from fires, along with free access to certain codes and standards.
  • PILOTS Database
    The PILOTS (Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress) database is an electronic index to the worldwide literature on posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. It is produced by the National Center for PTSD.
  • PubMed
    The free Internet version of Medline, a database containing over 11 million references to medical articles, provided by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.

About the Library

Profile Image
Century College Library
Contact Info
3300 Century Ave. N
White Bear Lake, MN 55110
Reference Desk: 651-747-4004
Circulation Desk: 651-779-3968
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip